I don’t listen to ambient music very often, but I occasionally check it out.  After checking tout “Mountain of Needles” by David Byrne and Brian Eno (video down below), I stumbled upon a pretty decent musical disagreement.

The video poster said that the album in question wasn’t “altogether successful,” someone else responded:  “What do you mean, ‘not altogether successful’?  In my opinion and the opinion of many it’s a classic. At least one source, allmusic.com, considers it ‘A pioneering work for countless styles connected to electronics, ambience, and Third World music…’.  I could cite many others.  So I must respectfully disagree with your assessment.”

The video poster replied:  “the upbeat stuff is weak. If you think it good then try listening to ‘Remain In Light’ instead. Its a lot more successful in what it sets out to achieve. And er..the vast majority of music critics out there are full of shit. Either they have not the genetics to appreciate music or they are paid to bullshit.”

Now, this could have totally spun things out of control, but it was contained like this:  “….As to what Byrne and Eno set out to achieve, I’ve never read anything as to what their goals were; I enjoy several of the more upbeat songs, in particular ‘The Jezebel Spirit’ and ‘Help Me Somebody’.  Maybe it’s my religious upbringing (I’m an atheist now), but something about those songs feels very genuine.  As does ‘Regiment’.  Regardless, I appreciate your reply to my comment.”

See, that wasn’t so hard, was it?  It would be great if more people could resolve things in that manner.

